Arizona Landlord-Tenant Laws

In 2020, Arizona was the second-fastest-growing state in the U.S. This comes as no surprise with Phoenix’s warm, inviting weather and the diverse landscapes you can find throughout the state. Arizona is an excellent place to invest in property because of the constant increase in population and growing need for housing. As home to 22 national parks and monuments, a growing craft brewery scene, and some of the best restaurants in the nation, it’s no wonder Arizona is a great place to live and invest in property.

For our recommendations on exactly where to invest in this state, take a look at our Arizona rental investment report – read below for guidance on Arizona landlord-tenant law.

Arizona Tenant Rights and Landlord Responsibilities

  • Return security deposit within 14 days
  • No legal provisions for rental increases
  • Must make repairs within 10 days
  • Must give a 2 day notice before entering

When it comes to Arizona rental laws, there are a few specifics landlords need to know:

  1. Security Deposits – Landlords may require up to a month and a half of rent as a security deposit. They must return the security deposit within 14 days of a tenant moving out. 
  2. Raising Rent – Arizona has no laws that give limitations to what landlords may charge for rent. There are also no requirements or limitations for increasing rent. 
  3. Repairs – Landlords must make repairs within ten days of a written notice. If a landlord fails to make the repair within this time period, the tenant may utilize the self-help repair statute, which allows the tenant to pay for the repairs and deduct the cost out of their next rent payment.
  4. Entry Notice – Landlords must give their tenant a two-day notice before entering the unit unless it is in the case of an emergency. 

Arizona Rental Laws and Tenant Responsibilities

  • A tenant may not withhold rent for any reason outside of the self-help repair statute
  • A tenant has 10 days to claim abandoned property
  • A tenant has 5 days to pay rent 
  • Tenants are responsible for maintaining the residence
  1. Withholding Rent – A tenant may only withhold rent if a landlord fails to make necessary repairs. Other than this, there are no legal reasons a tenant may withhold rent. 
  2. Abandoned Property – If a tenant moves out and leaves personal property, the landlord must send them a written notice and store the property for ten days. After this time period, if the ex-tenant has not claimed it, the landlord may sell it or throw it away. 
  3. Eviction Process – If a tenant fails to pay rent, the landlord must give them a written notice that they have five days to do so. After this period, the landlord may file for an eviction. If the tenant violates the lease, the landlord must give them ten days to fix the violation before they are able to file for an eviction. 
  4. Maintaining Property – Tenants have a duty to keep the rental property maintained including complying with building codes, not destroying property, and properly using all appliances.

Arizona Renter’s Rights FAQ’s

Below are brief answers for some of the most commonly-asked questions when it comes to landlord-tenant laws in Arizona.

Can You Withhold Rent in Arizona?

You can withhold rent only under the self-help repair statute if a landlord doesn’t perform repairs within ten days of being notified. A tenant cannot withhold rent under any other circumstances in Arizona. 

How Long Does it Take to Evict a Tenant in Arizona?

A landlord must have a legal reason to terminate a lease. If a tenant fails to pay rent on time, the landlord must supply them with a written notice that gives them five days to pay. If they do not pay within those five days, then the landlord may file for an eviction. If the tenant fails to take proper care of the property, the landlord may give them a five day notice to fix the problem otherwise the landlord may file for an eviction. If the tenant breaks any other part of the lease, they are given ten days to remedy otherwise the landlord is able to file for an eviction. 

Is Arizona a Landlord-Friendly State?

Yes. As one of the fastest-growing states and a state with no rent restrictions and other laws that favor landlords, Arizona is one of the most landlord-friendly states. 

How Much Notice Does a Landlord Have to Give a Tenant to Move Out in Arizona?

For month-to-month renters, a landlord is required to give the tenant a 30-day notice of move out. If the lease is fixed, the landlord doesn’t have to give any notice. 

Due Diligence and Arizona Rental Laws

TurboTenant has utilized many municipal sources along with official state statutes in order to compile this information to the best of our ability. However, local laws are always in flux and landlords and tenants alike should be sure to do their due diligence and consult legal help when it’s needed. We hope the following list can serve as a valuable resource and allow you to succeed as a landlord or tenant in Arizona. Be sure to take proper precautions when it comes to finding the top candidates for your unit by utilizing our online rental application and tenant screening services.

Disclaimer: TurboTenant, Inc does not provide legal advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only. All users are advised to check all applicable local, state, and federal laws and consult legal counsel should questions arise.

Arizona Landlord-Tenant Law Resources

Arizona Fair Housing Resources

Other State Resources

Arizona Associations

Arizona City-Specific Housing Resources

Phoenix

Tucson

Mesa

Chandler

Glendale

Scottsdale

Gilbert

Tempe

Federal Fair Housing Resources

Join the 300,000+ independent landlords that rely on TurboTenant to create welcoming rental experiences.

No tricks or trials to worry about. So what’s the harm? Try it today!