Michigan Landlord-Tenant Law
For anyone who enjoys living an active lifestyle, Michigan is an excellent option for relocation. With the second-longest coastline in the United States, entire seasons, and lakes just about every way you turn, it is the ultimate playground. Michigan also has a low cost of living, which is the cherry on top. Michigan is one of the only housing markets with over one million residents that still boasts inexpensive home values. For our recommendations on exactly where to invest in this state, take a look at our Michigan rental investment report – read below for guidance on Michigan landlord-tenant law.
Laws that impact the rental market, landlords, and tenants are constantly being decided in states. Make sure you know what’s on your ballot – find Michigan voting information here.
Michigan Renters' Rights and Landlord Responsibilities
- Must return security deposit within 30 days
- No notice required before raising rent
- No notice required before entering the property
- Required to make repairs within a reasonable time frame
When it comes to Michigan rental laws, there are a few specifics landlords need to know:
- Security Deposit – Michigan law limits the amount a landlord may charge for the security deposit to one and a half months’ rent. Landlords must return the deposit within 30 days of the tenant moving out.
- Raising Rent – Landlords in Michigan may increase the rent to any amount with no notice or justification.
- Notice of Entry – Michigan does not require any notice before entering the unit or property.
- Repairs – Landlords must make repairs within a reasonable amount of time for non-emergency repairs, but the amount of time is not specified. For emergencies, they must make the repair within 24 hours. If a landlord fails to make the repair within this period, the tenant may make the repairs themselves and deduct the cost from the future rent payment.
- Rental Applications (Detroit) – Landlords with more than 5 rental units cannot ask about criminal background on rental applications. Once a candidate has qualified, then the landlord can run a background check.
- Rental Applications (Ann Arbor) – Landlords cannot ask about or require a tenant to disclose their criminal background on an application. Only after a conditional offer to rent has been extended, then the landlord can do a background check.
Michigan Landlords' Rights and Tenant Responsibilities
- Tenants have seven days to pay rent after they receive a written notice
- Must give a 30-day notice before terminating a lease
- Tenants must keep the property clean and make small repairs
- Overdue Rent – If a tenant fails to pay rent on time, the landlord must give them a notice and seven days to pay. If the tenant fails to pay, the landlord may file for eviction.
- Terminating a Lease – If a tenant needs to terminate a month-to-month lease, they must give the landlord a 30-day notice.
- Tenant Responsibilities – Tenants are required to keep the property clean and not disturb neighbors.
Michigan Landlord-Tenant Law FAQ
Below are answers to some of the most commonly-asked questions when it comes to landlord-tenant laws in Michigan:
Can You Withhold Rent in Michigan?
Renters are able to withhold rent under the repair and deduct statute if a landlord fails to make necessary repairs.
How Long Does it Take to Evict a Tenant in Michigan?
Evicting a tenant in Michigan typically takes anywhere from two weeks to two months depending on the reason for eviction.
Is Michigan a Landlord-Friendly State?
Michigan is considered a fairly landlord-friendly state because of the lack of rent control laws, and they may collect interest from security deposits.
What is the Eviction Process in Michigan?
There are five reasons a landlord may file for eviction in Michigan. The five reasons include failure to pay rent, violation of the lease agreement, end of lease term, safety violation, and illegal activity. Depending on the violation, the landlord must give the tenant notice and anywhere from seven to 30 days to cure their violation.
If the tenant fails to cure or quit, then the landlord may file a complaint with the court, which costs $45. After the complaint is filed, it will be served to the tenant at least three days before the hearing. The hearing will be held within ten days after the summons was served.
If the court rules in favor of the landlord, then a writ of restitution will be issued anywhere from a few hours to ten days after the ruling. Upon being served the writ of restitution, the tenant will have to move out within seven days.
How Much Notice Does a Landlord Have to Give a Tenant to Move Out in Michigan?
Landlords must give a 30-day notice before asking a tenant to vacate the property.
Due Diligence and Michigan Rental Laws
TurboTenant has utilized many municipal sources, along with official state statutes, in order to compile this information to the best of our ability. However, local laws are always in flux, and landlords and tenants alike should do their due diligence and consult legal help when it’s needed. We hope the following list can serve as a valuable resource and allow you to succeed as a landlord or tenant in Michigan. Be sure to take proper precautions when it comes to finding the top candidates for your unit by utilizing our online rental application and tenant screening services.
Disclaimer: TurboTenant, Inc does not provide legal advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only. All users are advised to check all applicable local, state, and federal laws, and consult legal counsel should questions arise.
Michigan Landlord-Tenant Law Resources
- HOUSING LAW OF MICHIGAN – Act 167 of 1917 – Michigan Legislature
- LANDLORD AND TENANT RELATIONSHIPS – Act 348 of 1972 – Michigan Legislature
- TRUTH IN RENTING ACT – Act 454 of 1978 – Michigan Legislature
- UNTENANTABLE BUILDINGS (EXCERPT) – Section 554.201 – Michigan Legislature
Michigan Fair Housing Resources
Other State Resources
- Tenants and Landlords a Practical Guide – MSU College of Law Housing Law Clinic
- Landlord Tenant Client Library – Michigan Legal Help
- 554.602 Security deposit Law
Michigan City-Specific Housing Resources
- Rental Property FAQs – What Landlords & Tenants Should Know – City of Detroit
- Register A Rental Property – City of Detroit
- Property Maintenance Division Inspections, Requirements and Responsibilities – City of Detroit
- Detroit Metropolitan Apartment Association
- Detroit Association of REALTORS®
- Rental Division – City of Warren
- Fair Housing – City of Warren
- Greater Metropolitan Association of REALTORS®
- Landlord / Tenant Eviction Proceedings – City of Sterling Heights
- Fair Housing – City of Sterling Heights
- Grosse Pointe Board of REALTORS®– City of Sterling Heights
- Landlord-Tenant Forms – City of Lansing
- Fair Housing – City of Lansing
- Greater Lansing Association of REALTORS®
- Rental Housing Services – City of Ann Arbor
- Landlord/Tenant & Eviction Information – Washtenaw County
- Washtenaw Area Apartment Association
- Ann Arbor Area Board of REALTORS®
- Landlord Tenant – City of Dearborn
- Resolve a Landlord/Tenant Dispute – City of Dearborn
- Dearborn Area Board of REALTORS®
Federal Fair Housing Resources
Create a single Michigan lease agreement, or subscribe and receive unlimited lease agreements, landlord forms pack, and e-signs for a simple annual fee. Be confident with all the legal forms and tools you need as a professional landlord.
Join the 500,000+ independent landlords who rely on TurboTenant to create welcoming rental experiences.
No tricks or trials to worry about. So what’s the harm? Try it today!