Mississippi Landlord-Tenant Law
As one of the most landlord-friendly states, Mississippi is an ideal state to invest in rental property. Paired with a lower than average home value and low cost of living, Mississippi should be on the list for anyone looking to expand their rental resume. It should also be on the list for anyone looking to relocate. This is a state with a rich history, geography, and quality of life. For our recommendations on exactly where to invest in this state, take a look at our Mississippi rental investment report – read below for guidance on Mississippi landlord-tenant law.
Laws that impact the rental market, landlords, and tenants are constantly being decided in states. Make sure you know what’s on your ballot – find Mississippi voting information here.
Mississippi Renters' Rights and Landlord Responsibilities
- Must return security deposit within 45 days
- No notice required before raising rent
- No notice required before entering the property
- Required to make repairs within 30 days
When it comes to Mississippi rental laws, there are a few specifics landlords need to know:
- Security Deposit – Mississippi law does not limit the amount a landlord may charge for the security deposit. Landlords must return the deposit within 45 days of the tenant moving out.
- Raising Rent – Landlords in Mississippi may increase the rent to any amount with no notice or justification.
- Notice of Entry – Mississippi does not require any notice before entering the unit or property.
- Repairs – Landlords must make repairs within 30 days of receiving written notice. If a landlord fails to make the repair within this period, the tenant may make the repairs themselves and deduct the cost from the future rent payment.
Mississippi Landlords' Rights and Tenant Responsibilities
- Tenants have three days to pay rent after they receive a written notice
- Must give a 30-day notice before terminating a lease
- Tenants must keep the property clean and free from hazards
- Overdue Rent – If a tenant fails to pay rent on time, the landlord must give them a notice and three days to pay. If the tenant fails to pay, the landlord may file for eviction.
- Terminating a Lease – If a tenant needs to terminate a month-to-month lease, they must give the landlord a 30-day notice.
- Tenant Responsibilities – Tenants are required to keep the property clean and not disturb neighbors.
Mississippi Landlord-Tenant Law FAQ
Below are answers to some of the most commonly-asked questions when it comes to landlord-tenant laws in Mississippi:
Can You Withhold Rent in Mississippi?
Renters can withhold rent under the repair and deduct statute if a landlord fails to make necessary repairs.
How Long Does it Take to Evict a Tenant in Mississippi?
Evicting a tenant in Mississippi typically takes anywhere from two to eight weeks, depending on the reason for eviction.
Is Mississippi a Landlord-Friendly State?
Mississippi is considered one of the most landlord-friendly states because of the lack of rent control laws, the power landlords have to handle evictions, and the ability to set lease terms.
What is the Eviction Process in Mississippi?
There are four reasons a landlord may file for eviction in Mississippi. The four reasons include failure to pay rent, violation of the lease agreement, end of lease term, and safety violation. Depending on the violation, the landlord must give the tenant notice and anywhere from three to 14 days to cure their violation.
If the tenant fails to cure or move out, then the landlord may file a complaint with the court, which costs $75. After the complaint is filed, it will be served to the tenant at least five days before the hearing. The hearing will be held five to ten days after the complaint is filed.
If the court rules in favor of the landlord, then a writ of execution will be issued anywhere from a few hours to five days after the ruling. The tenant will have to move out within a time frame specified by the judicial officer upon being served the writ of execution.
How Much Notice Does a Landlord Have to Give a Tenant to Move Out in Mississippi?
Landlords must give a 30-day notice before asking a tenant to vacate the property.
Due Diligence and Mississippi Rental Laws
TurboTenant has utilized many municipal sources and official state statutes to compile this information to the best of our ability. However, local laws are constantly in flux, and landlords and tenants alike should do their due diligence and consult legal help when it’s needed. We hope the following list can serve as a valuable resource and allow you to succeed as a landlord or tenant in Mississippi. Be sure to take proper precautions when it comes to finding the top candidates for your unit by utilizing our online rental application and tenant screening services.
Disclaimer: TurboTenant, Inc does not provide legal advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only. All users are advised to check all applicable local, state, and federal laws, and consult legal counsel should questions arise.
Mississippi Landlord-Tenant Law Resources
Mississippi Fair Housing Resources
- Local Tenant Rights, Laws, and Protections: Mississippi – HUD
- HUD in Mississippi
- Discrimination in Housing – The Mississippi Bar
Other State Resources
- Cur-RENT Law for Tenants and Landlords – Mississippi Bar Association
- Moving In: A Guide to Landlord-Tenant Law – University of Mississippi
Mississippi City-Specific Housing Resources
- Central Mississippi Realtors® – Jackson, MS
- Gulf Coast Association of REALTORS® – Gulfport, MS
- Northwest Mississippi Association of REALTORS® – Southhaven, MS
Federal Fair Housing Resources
Join the 450,000+ independent landlords who rely on TurboTenant to create welcoming rental experiences.
No tricks or trials to worry about. So what’s the harm? Try it today!