New Hampshire Landlord-Tenant Law
New Hampshire is consistently voted as the best state to live in for good reason! New Hampshire has something for everyone. From the coastline to the mountains, no matter what activities you enjoy, you’ll find it in New Hampshire. It is also ranked among the top five states for education, has an excellent economy, and has a low crime rate. Because of these reasons, New Hampshire is a great state for those looking to relocate, and in turn, a great place to invest in rental properties. For our recommendations on exactly where to invest in this state, take a look at our New Hampshire rental investment report – read below for guidance on New Hampshire landlord-tenant law.
Laws that impact the rental market, landlords, and tenants are constantly being decided in states. Make sure you know what’s on your ballot – find New Hampshire voting information here.
New Hampshire Renters' Rights and Landlord Responsibilities
- Have 30 days to return security deposit
- A 30-day notice required before raising rent
- Must give a reasonable amount of notice before entering
- Required to make repairs within 14 days
When it comes to New Hampshire rental laws, there are a few specifics landlords need to know:
- Security Deposit – New Hampshire limits the amount a landlord may charge for the security deposit to the equivalent of one month’s rent. Landlords must return the deposit within 30 days of the tenant moving out.
- Raising Rent – Landlords in New Hampshire may increase the rent to any amount for any reason with a 30-day notice.
- Notice of Entry – New Hampshire requires landlords to give reasonable notice before entering the property.
- Repairs – It is the landlord’s responsibility to keep the rental in safe and healthy living conditions. Landlords must make repairs within 14 days after being notified by the tenant. If the landlord fails to make repairs within this time frame, tenants may withhold rent.
New Hampshire Landlords' Rights and Tenant Responsibilities
- Tenants have seven days to pay rent after they receive a notice
- Must give a 30-day notice before terminating a lease
- Tenants must keep the unit in safe and habitable condition
- The landlord must store abandoned property for seven days
- Overdue Rent – If a tenant fails to pay rent on time, the landlord must give them seven days’ notice to pay or quit. If the tenant fails to pay, the landlord may file for eviction.
- Terminating a Lease – If a tenant needs to terminate a month-to-month lease, they must give the landlord a 30-day notice.
- Tenant Responsibilities – Tenants are required to keep the property clean, not disturb neighbors, and make small repairs.
- Abandoned Property – If a tenant moves out and leaves personal property, the landlord must notify them and store the property for a minimum of seven days. After this time period, if the ex-tenant has not claimed it, the landlord may dispose of it how they see fit.
New Hampshire Landlord-Tenant Law FAQ
Below are answers to some of the most commonly-asked questions when it comes to landlord-tenant laws in New Hampshire:
Can You Withhold Rent in New Hampshire?
Yes. Tenants may withhold rent if a landlord fails to make requested repairs.
How Long Does it Take to Evict a Tenant in New Hampshire?
Evicting a tenant in New Hampshire can take anywhere from one to two months, depending on the reason for eviction.
Is New Hampshire a Landlord-Friendly State?
New Hampshire is a somewhat landlord-friendly state because of the lack of rent control laws.
What is the Eviction Process in New Hampshire?
There are seven reasons a landlord may file for eviction in New Hampshire. The seven reasons include failure to pay rent, violation of the lease agreement, the end of the lease term, substantial property damage, failure to accept temporary relocation, failure to prepare the unit for remediation, and illegal activity. Depending on the violation, the landlord must give the tenant notice and anywhere from 7 to 30 days to cure their violation.
If the tenant fails to cure or quit, then the landlord may file a complaint with the court, which costs $125. After the complaint is filed, it will be served to the tenant.
After the tenant is served with the summons, the hearing will be scheduled within 10 days.
If the court rules in favor of the landlord, then a writ of possession will be issued at least five days later. The tenant will then need to move out, although the law doesn’t specify how long the tenant has.
How Much Notice Does a Landlord Have to Give a Tenant to Move Out in New Hampshire?
Landlords must give a 30-day notice before asking a tenant to vacate the property.
Due Diligence and New Hampshire Rental Laws
TurboTenant has utilized many municipal sources along with official state statutes in order to compile this information to the best of our ability. However, local laws are always in flux, and landlords and tenants alike should do their due diligence and consult legal help when it’s needed. We hope the following list can serve as a valuable resource and allow you to succeed as a landlord or tenant in New Hampshire. Be sure to take proper precautions when it comes to finding the top candidates for your unit by utilizing our online rental application and tenant screening services.
Disclaimer: TurboTenant, Inc does not provide legal advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only. All users are advised to check all applicable local, state, and federal laws, and consult legal counsel should questions arise.
New Hampshire Landlord-Tenant Law Resources
- Actions Against Tenants – Chapter 540
- Limitation of Actions – Chapter 508
- Regulations of Manufactured Housing Parks – Chapter 205 – A
- Security Deposits– Chapter 540 – A
New Hampshire Fair Housing Resources
Other State Resources
- Renting, Security Deposits, and Evictions – Office of the Attorney General
- Information for Landlords/Forms – New Hampshire Judicial Branch
New Hampshire Associations
- Apartment Association of New Hampshire
- New Hampshire REALTORS®
- New Hampshire Real Estate Investors Association
New Hampshire City-Specific Housing Resources
- Landlord List – City of Concord
- Landlord Agent Registration – City of Concord
- Landlord Registration Form
- Capital Region Board of REALTORS®
- Property Owner Registration – City of Rochester
- Fair Housing – City of Rochester
- Strafford County Board of REALTORS®
Federal Fair Housing Resources
Join the 450,000+ independent landlords who rely on TurboTenant to create welcoming rental experiences.
No tricks or trials to worry about. So what’s the harm? Try it today!