Arkansas Landlord-Tenant Law
Arkansas is a great place to invest in rental property because of the low cost of housing and minimal rental laws and regulations. It is also an ideal location for those looking to relocate because of its affordable living and high quality of life. For our recommendations on exactly where to invest in this state, take a look at our Arkansas rental investment report – read below for guidance on Arkansas landlord-tenant law.
Laws that impact the rental market, landlords, and tenants are constantly being decided in states. Make sure you know what’s on your ballot – find Arkansas voting information here.
Arkansas Renters' Rights and Landlord Responsibilities
- Must return security deposit within 60 days
- No notice required before raising rent
- No notice required before entering the property
- No time requirement for repairs
When it comes to Arkansas rental laws, there are a few specifics landlords need to know:
- Security Deposit – Arkansas law limits the security deposit amount to the equivalent of two months of rent. Landlords must return the deposit within 60 days of the tenant moving out.
- Raising Rent – Landlords in Arkansas may increase the rent to any amount with no notice or justification as long as it is not for discriminatory reasons.
- Notice of Entry – Arkansas does not require any notice before entering the unit or property.
- Repairs – Landlords in Arkansas are not required to make repairs unless otherwise specified in their lease agreement.
Arkansas Landlords' Rights and Tenant Responsibilities
- Tenants have five days to pay rent after they receive a written notice
- Landlords don’t need to wait any time before disposing of abandoned property
- Tenants must keep the property clean
- Overdue Rent – If a tenant fails to pay rent on time, the landlord must give them a notice and five days to pay. If the tenant fails to pay, the landlord may file for eviction.
- Abandoned Property – If a tenant moves out and leaves behind personal property, the landlord may immediately dispose of it in any way they deem acceptable.
- Tenant Responsibilities – Tenants are required to keep the property clean and not disturb neighbors.
Arkansas Landlord-Tenant Law FAQ
Below are answers to some of the most commonly-asked questions when it comes to landlord-tenant laws in Arkansas:
Can You Withhold Rent in Arkansas?
You cannot withhold rent in Arkansas.
How Long Does it Take to Evict a Tenant in Arkansas?
Evicting a tenant in Arkansas typically takes anywhere from six to eight weeks, depending on the reason for eviction.
Is Arkansas a Landlord-Friendly State?
Arkansas is considered a very landlord-friendly state because there are very few limiting laws for landlords.
What is the Eviction Process in Arkansas?
There are four reasons a landlord may file for eviction in Arkansas. The four reasons include failure to pay rent, violation of the lease agreement, end of lease term, and illegal activity. Depending on the violation, the landlord must give the tenant notice and anywhere from five to 30 days to cure their violation.
If the tenant fails to cure or move out, then the landlord may file a complaint with the court, which will then be served to the tenant within 20 days. Tenants will then have ten days to file a response, and after a response is received, a hearing will be held.
If the court rules in favor of the landlord, then a writ of possession will be issued within three days. Once the tenant has been served the writ of possession, they will have 24 hours to move out..
How Much Notice Does a Landlord Have to Give a Tenant to Move Out in Arkansas?
Landlords must give tenants a 30-day notice before requiring a month-to-month tenant to move out. For a week-to-week lease, only a seven-day notice is required.
Due Diligence and Arkansas Rental Laws
TurboTenant has utilized many municipal sources along with official state statutes in order to compile this information to the best of our ability. However, local laws are always in flux, and landlords and tenants alike should be sure to do their due diligence and consult legal help when it’s needed. We hope the following list can serve as a valuable resource and allow you to succeed as a landlord or tenant in Arkansas . Be sure to take proper precautions when it comes to finding the top candidates for your unit by utilizing our online rental application and tenant screening services.
Disclaimer: TurboTenant, Inc does not provide legal advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only. All users are advised to check all applicable local, state, and federal laws and consult legal counsel should questions arise.
Arkansas Landlord-Tenant Law Resources
- Chapter 16 – Landlord and Tenant
- Chapter 17 – Arkansas Residential Landlord-Tenant Act of 2007
- § 18-16-101 – Failure to pay rent — Refusal to vacate upon notice — Penalty.
- Landlord and Tenant Law
Arkansas Fair Housing Resources
Other State Resources
Arkansas City-Specific Housing Resources
- Are landlords required to have a business license? – City of Fayetteville
- Fayetteville Regional Association of REALTORS®
Federal Fair Housing Resources
Join the 300,000+ independent landlords that rely on TurboTenant to create welcoming rental experiences.
No tricks or trials to worry about. So what’s the harm? Try it today!