Alaska Landlord-Tenant Law
If you’re looking for somewhere remote, then Alaska is it. It takes the cake for the largest state and the least densely populated, and almost half of the state’s population lives in Anchorage. Alaska is also great for those looking to relocate because there is no state income tax and no sales tax in Anchorage. The housing market is also on an upswing, which is excellent news for investors. For our recommendations on exactly where to invest in this state, take a look at our Alaska rental investment report – read below for guidance on Alaska landlord-tenant law.
Laws that impact the rental market, landlords, and tenants are constantly being decided in states. Make sure you know what’s on your ballot – find Alaska voting information here.
Alaska Renters' Rights and Landlord Responsibilities
- Have 30 days to return security deposit
- A 30-day notice required before raising rent
- Must give a 24-hour notice before entering
- Required to make repairs within 10 days
When it comes to Alaska rental laws, there are a few specifics landlords need to know:
- Security Deposit – Alaska limits the amount a landlord may charge for the security deposit to the equivalent of two month’s rent. Landlords must return the deposit within 30 days of the tenant moving out.
- Raising Rent – Landlords in Alaska may increase the rent to any amount for any reason with a 30-day notice.
- Notice of Entry – Alaska requires landlords to give a 24-hour notice before entering the property.
- Repairs – It is the landlord’s responsibility to keep the rental in safe and healthy living conditions. Landlords must make repairs within 10 days after being notified by the tenant. If the landlord fails to make repairs within this time frame, tenants may make the repairs themselves and deduct the cost from their future rent payments.
Alaska Landlords' Rights and Tenant Responsibilities
- Tenants have seven days to pay rent after they receive a notice
- Must give a 30-day notice before terminating a lease
- Tenants must keep the unit in safe and habitable condition
- Landlord must store abandoned property for 15 days and attempt to contact the tenant
- Overdue Rent – If a tenant fails to pay rent on time, the landlord must give them seven days’ notice to pay or quit. If the tenant fails to pay, the landlord may file for eviction.
- Terminating a Lease – If a tenant needs to terminate a month-to-month lease, they must give the landlord a 30-day notice.
- Tenant Responsibilities – Tenants are required to keep the property clean, not disturb neighbors, and make small repairs.
- Abandoned Property – If a tenant moves out and leaves personal property, the landlord must notify them and store the property for 15 days. After this period, the landlord may dispose or sell the property however they see fit.
Alaska Landlord-Tenant Law FAQ
Below are answers to some of the most commonly-asked questions when it comes to landlord-tenant laws in Alaska:
Can You Withhold Rent in Alaska?
Tenants may repair and deduct the cost from their rent payments if their landlord fails to make requested repairs.
How Long Does it Take to Evict a Tenant in Alaska?
Evicting a tenant in Alaska can take anywhere from one to two months, depending on the reason for eviction.
Is Alaska a Landlord-Friendly State?
Alaska is a landlord-friendly state because of the lack of rent control laws.
What is the Eviction Process in Alaska?
There are six reasons a landlord may file for eviction in Alaska. The six reasons include failure to pay rent, violation of the lease agreement, the end of the lease term, failure to pay utilities, failure to allow landlord access, and illegal activity. Depending on the violation, the landlord must give the tenant notice and anywhere from 7 to 10 days to cure their violation.
If the tenant fails to cure or quit, then the landlord may file a complaint with the court, which costs $250. After the complaint is filed, it will be served to the tenant at least two days before the hearing.
After the tenant is served with the summons, the hearing will be scheduled within 15 days of the complaint being filed.
If the court rules in favor of the landlord, then a writ of assistance will be issued within a few hours to a few days. The tenant will then need to move out within a specified amount of time.
How Much Notice Does a Landlord Have to Give a Tenant to Move Out in Alaska?
Landlords must give a 30-day notice before asking a tenant to vacate the property.
Due Diligence and Alaska Rental Laws
TurboTenant has utilized many municipal sources along with official state statutes in order to compile this information to the best of our ability. However, local laws are always in flux, and landlords and tenants alike should do their due diligence and consult legal help when it’s needed. We hope the following list can serve as a valuable resource and allow you to succeed as a landlord or tenant in Alaska. Be sure to take proper precautions when it comes to finding the top candidates for your unit by utilizing our online rental application and tenant screening services.
Disclaimer: TurboTenant, Inc does not provide legal advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only. All users are advised to check all applicable local, state, and federal laws, and consult legal counsel should questions arise.
Alaska Landlord-Tenant Law Resources
Alaska Fair Housing Resources
Other State Resources
- Alaska Landlord and Tenant Act – Alaska Court System (PDF)
- Landlord and Tenant Information – State of Alaska
Alaska City-Specific Housing Resources
- Anchorage Board of REALTORS®
- Greater Fairbanks Board of REALTORS®
- Southeast Alaska Board of REALTORS® – Juneau
Federal Fair Housing Resources
- Federal Fair Housing Act
- United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
- Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Wikipedia)
Free Landlord Tools and Software
Join the 500,000+ independent landlords who rely on TurboTenant to create welcoming rental experiences.
No tricks or trials to worry about. So what’s the harm? Try it today!