Arizona Eviction Laws

This guide provides crucial information and advice on Arizona eviction laws. It delineates the essential actions landlords need to undertake to reclaim their rented property. Additionally, it offers an in-depth review of the tenant’s rights and protections during the eviction process. This resource proves indispensable for both landlords and tenants in Arizona, guiding them through eviction procedures and ensuring a fair and systematic process.

Reasons for Eviction in Arizona

  • Not paying rent
  • Violating a lease term
  • Causing or allowing a condition that endangers health and safety
  • Committing a crime on the premises

Notice to Vacate

If the tenant violates their lease for a second time during their lease term, the landlord can give a 10-day unconditional quit notice, which requires the tenant to move out within 10 days.

Additional reasons for a 10-day unconditional quit notice include:

  • Discharge of a weapon
  • Homicide
  • Prostitution
  • Criminal gang activity
  • Use or sale of illegal drugs
  • Assault or acts that threaten harm to others

Notice to Comply

Before filing an eviction with the court, the landlord must issue a notice to comply:

  • For failure to maintain the rental unit, the landlord must give a five-day notice to cure or quit.
  • For violation of the lease term, the landlord must give a 10-day notice to cure.
  • For failure to pay rent, the landlord must give a five-day notice to pay rent or move out. If the tenant does not comply, the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit against the tenant.

Learn more about the eviction process, including the average cost.

Serving the Tenant

For five or 10-day notices, the landlord can personally hand the notice to the tenant or send it via registered or certified mail to the tenant (at the address listed on the lease or to their last known address).

Eviction action summons, and complaints must be served by a process server or sheriff by personal service or by posting the notice in an obvious place and mailing a copy (if they cannot get personal service).

Tenant Possessions

Arizona eviction laws state that landlords must provide written notification indicating the tenant has 14 days to claim their property. If unclaimed, the landlord can donate or sell the property. The landlord can use any sale proceeds to cover the costs of holding the sale, storage of the property, or unpaid rent. The remainder must be returned to the tenant. The landlord may dispose of possessions deemed not to have any monetary value.

eviction process cta
Need Help With An Eviction?
Get a free eviction consultation
Get Started Today

Eviction Timeline

Below you’ll learn the average timeline for a complete eviction in Arizona. This projected timeline could change based on the complexities of your specific case.

Typically, it takes anywhere between five to 30 days for the Arizona eviction process.

How to Start the Eviction Process in Arizona?

First, send the required notice to your tenant. If they don’t cure the violation or move out within the allotted time, the landlord can file an eviction complaint with the court and serve the tenant via the sheriff or personal process server.

How to Stop the Eviction Process in Arizona?

File a motion to dismiss with the court in order to stop the eviction process in Arizona.

How Long is the Eviction Process in Arizona?

The Arizona eviction process can take anywhere from five to 30 days.

Create a custom lease agreement
Generate custom pdf today