Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Law
With seven national parks, a low cost of living, and a booming job economy, Wyoming is a great option for people looking to relocate. Home values are currently on the upswing, and median rent prices are above average here. With low property tax and crime rates, Wyoming is a great place to invest in rental property. For our recommendations on exactly where to invest in this state, take a look at our Wyoming rental investment report – read below for guidance on Wyoming landlord-tenant law.
Laws that impact the rental market, landlords, and tenants are constantly being decided in states. Make sure you know what’s on your ballot – find Wyoming voting information here.
Wyoming Tenants' Rights and Landlord Responsibilities
- Must return security deposit within 30 days
- Landlords may charge whatever they deem reasonable for rent
- No notice required to enter property
- No time requirement for repairs
When it comes to Wyoming rental laws, there are a few specifics landlords need to know:
- Security Deposit – There is no limit to what a landlord may charge for a security deposit. The landlord must return the deposit to the tenant within 30 days of lease termination or 15 days of receiving a forwarding address.
- Rent – Wyoming has no legal maximum for what a landlord may charge for rent. There is also no limit on the amount a landlord may raise the rent, and they are not required to give any notice. Wyoming does not limit how much a landlord may charge for a late fee.
- Repairs – Tenants cannot withhold rent if a landlord fails to make repairs unless necessary for habitability. If a tenant does withhold rent, the landlord can evict them.
- Notice for Entry – Wyoming does not require the landlord to provide notice before entering the rental property.
- Disclosures – Landlords must disclose the use of any lead-based paint on the property.
Wyoming Landlords' Rights and Tenant Responsibilities
- Tenants are required to keep the property safe and livable
- No limit for late fees
- Abandoned property must be claimed within 7 days
- Victims of domestic violence may terminate the lease
- Tenants Responsibilities – Tenants must keep the property clean, safe, and habitable. They are also responsible for making minor repairs when needed and keeping fixtures clean.
- Late Fees – Landlords may charge whatever they deem reasonable as a late fee if a tenant fails to pay rent on time. If a check bounces, the maximum penalty a landlord may charge is $30.
- Abandoned Property – If a tenant moves out and leaves behind personal belongings, the landlord must send them a written notice and seven days to claim the property. If the tenant does not pick up the items, the landlord may dispose of the property however they deem fit.
- Special Protections – If a tenant is a victim of domestic violence, they may terminate the lease agreement as long as they give the landlord a seven-day notice.
Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Law FAQ
Below are brief answers for some of the most commonly-asked questions when it comes to landlord-tenant law in Wyoming.
Can You Withhold Rent in Wyoming?
Tenants can only withhold rent in Wyoming if the landlord fails to make repairs necessary for livability within the property.
How Long Does it Take to Evict a Tenant in Wyoming?
The eviction process typically takes around 30 days in Wyoming.
Is Wyoming a Landlord-Friendly State?
Yes. With no limits on rent, a quick eviction process, the ability to enter the unit at any time, and no time requirement to make repairs, Wyoming is one of the more landlord-friendly states.
What is the Eviction Process in Wyoming?
You can evict a tenant for two reasons in Wyoming, violating the lease agreement or not paying rent. The first step taken in the eviction process is to supply the tenant with notice. The tenant then has three days to cure their violation, and if they fail to do so, then the landlord may file for eviction. The tenant must then be served within three to 12 days. There is no requirement for how soon a court hearing must be held after the eviction is served. If the judge rules in favor of the eviction, then a writ of restitution will be issued within a few hours to a few days. Once the tenant receives this, they must move out within two days.
Can Landlords Require Renters Insurance in Wyoming?
The state of Wyoming does not require renters insurance, however, individual landlords may.
Due Diligence and Wyoming Rental Laws
TurboTenant has utilized many municipal sources along with official state statutes in order to compile this information to the best of our ability. However, local laws are always in flux and landlords and tenants alike should do their due diligence and consult legal help when it’s needed. We hope the following list can serve as a valuable resource and allow you to succeed as a landlord or tenant in Wyoming. Be sure to take proper precautions when it comes to finding the top candidates for your unit by utilizing our online rental application and tenant screening services.
Disclaimer: TurboTenant, Inc does not provide legal advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only. All users are advised to check all applicable local, state, and federal laws, and consult legal counsel should questions arise.
Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Law Resources
Wyoming Fair Housing Resources
Wyoming State Resources
Wyoming Real Estate Associations
City-Specific Housing Resources
- University of Wyoming Laramie – Landlord-Tenant Information
- University of Wyoming Laramie – Eviction
- City of Laramie – Fair Housing Resolution
- Laramie Board of REALTORS®
Federal Fair Housing Resources
Join the 500,000+ independent landlords who rely on TurboTenant to create welcoming rental experiences.
No tricks or trials to worry about. So what’s the harm? Try it today!